The Art of Participation

1950 to Now

Participating Artists

Vito Acconci
Francis Alÿs
John Baldessari
Joseph Beuys
Blank & Jeron and Gerrit Gohlke
George Brecht
Jonah Brucker-Cohen and Mike Bennett
John Cage
c a l c and Johannes Gees
Janet Cardiff
Lygia Clark
Minerva Cuevas
Maria Eichhorn
Harrell Fletcher and Jon Rubin
Fluxus Collective
Kit Galloway and Sherrie Rabinowitz
Jochen Gerz
Matthias Gommel
Felix Gonzalez-Torres
Dan Graham

Hans Haacke
Lynn Hershman Leeson
Allan Kaprow
Henning Lohner and Van Carlson
Chip Lord, Curtis Schreier, and Bruce Tomb
Rafael Lozano-Hemmer
Tom Marioni
MTAA (M.River and T.Whid Art Associates)
Antoni Muntadas
Yoko Ono
Nam June Paik
Dan Phiffer and Mushon Zer-Aviv
Raqs Media Collective
Robert Rauschenberg
Warren Sack
Mieko Shiomi
Wolf Vostell
Andy Warhol
Stephen Willats
Erwin Wurm

The Art of Participation: 1950 to Now is organized by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. The exhibition is generously funded by The James Irvine Foundation and SFMOMA's Collectors Forum. Additional support is provided by Goethe-Institut San Francisco. Media support is provided by The Examiner and

The James Irvine Foundation