Skip to content

Reference sheet documenting Robert Rauschenberg's Trophy series

Related to Trophy IV (for John Cage), 1961

Reference sheet documenting Robert Rauschenberg’s Trophy series. SFMOMA Permanent Collection Object Files

Research Material
Curatorial Document

Between 1959 and 1962, Rauschenberg created the Trophy series, a group of five sculptures honoring individuals whose friendship or collaboration had inspired his work. A sixth Trophy, for Darryl Pottorf, was made in 1994. This reference sheet documents the full series: Trophy I (for Merce Cunningham), Trophy II (for Teeny and Marcel Duchamp), Trophy III (for Jean Tinguely), Trophy IV (for John Cage), Trophy V (for Jasper Johns), and Alabaster Rush (Trophy VI for Darryl Pottorf).

Download (116.7 KB pdf)
View Other Research Materials