Press Office Event


The Modern Ball and The Post-Modern Party Will Take Place on April 25, 2012

Released: September 30, 2011 ·

The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) is thrilled to announce the date of the 2012 Modern Ball, the museum’s largest gala fundraiser. The grand celebration will be held on Wednesday, April 25, 2012, and chaired by SFMOMA Trustee Dolly Chammas. This year’s honorary chairs are Helen and Charles Schwab.

The Modern Ball will again be held at the museum, with the soaring, five-story Evelyn and Walter Haas Jr. Atrium as the center of activity. The multifaceted gala features two concurrent events: The Gala Dinner, a five-star meal with a live auction and entertainment; and The Supper Club, a hip and stylish lounge offering a fabulous buffet dinner, dancing, and music, as well as a scintillating social scene. Guests will then converge with additional revelers at The Post-Modern Party, a museum-wide fete featuring live and DJ entertainment that continues to the wee hours of the evening. Event designer Stanlee Gatti will transform the museum into a dazzling party space with surprises around every corner.

Tickets for both the Modern Ball and The Post-Modern Party will be available at a range of levels. Details will be announced in late fall. 

Proceeds from The Modern Ball enable SFMOMA to provide over 50,000 students, teachers, and families with free access to teacher training programs, docent-led tours for children, after-school programs for teens, and hands-on art activities and programs for families. Funds also help provide free or reduced admission for over 180,000 families and community members.

Media sponsorship is provided by San Francisco magazine.

The 2012 Modern Ball committee members: Alka Agrawal, Janice Barger, Janet Barnes, Yves Behar, Gretchen Berggruen, Gay-Lynn Blanding, Tamera Briones, Sabrina Buell, Carolyn Butcher, Patricia Calfee, Paula Carano, Patrick Chammas, Kate Harbin Clammer, Nathalie Delrue-McGuire, Carol Doll, Silvia Edwards, Ann Fisher, Marilyn Hayes, Bradley James, Pamela Kramlich, Janet W. Lamkin, Christine Lamond, Gorretti Lui, Charlot Malin, Anne-Marie Massocca, Nion McEvoy, Lorna Meyer, Alexis Miller, Katie Paige, Gina Peterson, Becca Prowda, Anderson Pugash, Jacqueline Sacks, Victoria, Yeager Sawyer, Allison Speer, Joni Binder Shwarts, Norah S. Stone, Christine Suppes, Laura Sweeney, Dana Tananbaum, Dianne Taube, Marina Tikhman, Pat Wilson, Annie Robinson Woods, Robin Wright, Mary Zlot

Jill Lynch 415.357.4172 jilynch@sfmoma.org
Clara Hatcher Baruth 415.357.4177 chatcher@sfmoma.org
Press Office