Press Office News

SFMOMA Announces 2017 SECA Art Award Winners

Released: December 03, 2016 · Download (67 KB PDF)


The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) announces the winners of the 2017 SECA Art Award:


Since 1967, SECA (Society for the Encouragement of Contemporary Art) has honored over 70 Bay Area artists with the SECA Art Award, which includes an exhibition at SFMOMA with an accompanying catalogue.

The award honors Bay Area artists whose work has not, at the time of nomination, been accorded substantial recognition from a major institution. Recipients of the SECA Art Award are selected by SFMOMA curators after a 10-month process involving artists, SECA members and members of the Bay Area arts community. 230 nominations were received this year, from which 16 finalists were selected. For a list of previous SECA Art Award winners, click here.


The 2017 SECA Art Award exhibition will be on view at SFMOMA in the summer of 2017.

2017 Finalists:

Amy Balkin

Nate Boyce

Will Brown

Ajit Chauhan

Ala Ebtekar

Liam Everett

Constance Hockaday

Cybele Lyle

Mads Lynnerup

Alicia McCarthy

Sean McFarland

K.r.m. Mooney

Ben Peterson

Richard T. Walker

Lindsey White

May Wilson

Jill Lynch 415.357.4172
Clara Hatcher Baruth 415.357.4177 chatcher@sfmoma.org